The Unreleased Facebook. You likely don’t have it.

Well, I see nearly every day someone complaining about the Facebook changes.  And then, some more are already complaining about the future changes!  Don’t you think you should at least see it first?

Well, I have that unreleased Facebook, so I figured I would type up a little review and maybe it will even reassure some.

First, you won’t notice any difference on the homepage.  So you can already calm down quite a bit since this is what we mainly look at.  Now, the changes are obvious when you view your own profile.

This is what is looks like:

Now, I intentionally removed the chat on the right side so no one complains about privacy.  The chat column stays the same.  Anyways, as you see at the top, there is a new image, called a cover image.  Mine is a banner for this website.  The dimensions are 851×315.  This cover photo is a really cool feature.  Next you will notice that you will see posts, status updates, recent activity, and pictures.  This is much more efficient.  You should be very happy with this improvement.

Now, notice the top right, it says now, September, August, July, 2011, 2010, 2009, born.  You can easily scroll through and look at information that was posted during those time periods.  Or any other for that matter.  This feature is incredible.

Some will say, well what is the “Born” selection?  Well, it goes to the date of your birth (or whatever you put as your birth) and it allows you to upload a photo.  I presume it is asking for a baby photo.  At the time of this writing, I frankly don’t give a shit about adding a baby photo of me.  But maybe I will in the future?  Either way, this feature is neutral at worst because you don’t have to look at it if you don’t want to.

Another change is the way photos are viewed.  They show them by year and you can scroll very quickly through them.  This is an improvement.  And yes, you still have albums.

Now, I haven’t found anyone who has the unreleased profile yet to see what it looks like when you view them.  But I would imagine it would be similar to your own.

In summary, this is by far the best update Facebook has ever released.  Not only is browsing more efficient, but Facebook has never been this close to allowing you to choose a background image, that would be the cover photo.  (Yes I know, this is not truly the background image, but I think it is pretty damn close.)  I really don’t think too many people will be upset with this update, and in fact, it didn’t even have a learning curve.  I immediately liked it.  In fact, I have yet to find a single feature that I don’t like.

So, will this stop people from bitching about updates?  Probably not.  But hopefully this makes them rest a little easier.

One thought on “The Unreleased Facebook. You likely don’t have it.

  1. Thanks for your whole labor on this web site. My mum delights in engaging in investigations and it’s really obvious why. My spouse and i know all about the powerful ways you provide practical things by means of the blog and inspire response from some others on that concern while my simple princess is certainly becoming educated so much. Have fun with the remaining portion of the year. You are doing a tremendous job.

Leave a Reply

